IAO Announces Art and Olfaction Finalists in Milan

The Institute for Art and Olfaction today announced the finalists for the third annual Art and Olfaction Awards. The announcement took place during a special ceremony at Esxense, an exhibition dedicated to artistic perfumery held annually in Milan, Italy. 

The Art and Olfaction Awards will be held at the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles on May 7, 2016. As last year, two winners will be selected from the Artisan and Independent categories, with a single winner being selected for the Sadakichi Award for Experimental Scent.

Each winner will receive The Golden Pear, which continues to cement its status as a prestigious achievement in the independent, artisan and experimental perfume world.

The finalists were selected by a group of highly qualified judges from the worlds of perfume, fine art and other creative industries. The artisan and independent category submissions were judged blindly, presented in generic vials and tracked by numerical codes.

Two sets of judges are being used to decide the nominees and finalists. The judges for the nominations in the Independent category were Steven Gontarski, Yvettra Grantham, Neal Harris, Laura Johnson, Sherri Sebastian and Lizzie Ostrom.  In the Artisan category, the preliminary judges included Antonio Gardoni, Hank Jenkins, Ashley Eden Kessler, Daniel Krasofski, James McHugh and Persephenie.

Independent and Artisan Categories Finalist Judges are Mandy Aftel, Mark Behnke, Sarah Horowitz-Thran, Kaya Sorhaindo, Andy Tauer and Luca Turin. The winner of the Sadakichi Award for Experimental Scent will be decided by Allison Agsten, Dr. Kóan Jeff Baysa, Peter de Cupere, Deji Bryce Olukotun and Ashraf Osman.

The finalists for the 2016 awards hail from 14 countries and represent a broad range of practices and styles. 

The winners in each category will be announced at the Third Annual Art and Olfaction Awards on Saturday, May 7 in a public event at Hammer Museum in Los Angeles, with special guest emcee Zackary Drucker (Whitney Biennial 2014 and Co-Producer of the Golden Globe and Emmy award-winning Transparent).

More information about the awards and attendance is available by visiting artandolfactionawards.com.


Century’s Breath
Cat Jones - Sydney, Australia

Dear Enemy
Christi Gast - Tierra Del Fuego, Chile and New York, USA

Carrie Paterson - Los Angeles, USA

The Juice of War – Hiroshima and Nagasaki
Maki Ueda - Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Western Drive
Kellen Walker - Austin, USA


Albino (A Study in White)
DSH Perfumes - Boulder, USA

Bird of Paradise
Thorn & Bloom Perfume - Somerville, USA

Cape Cod Wild Beach Rose
Nomaterra Fragrances - New York, USA

La Curie - Tucson, USA

Love for 3 Oranges
Aether Arts Perfumes – Boulder, USA

Auphorie - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Musk Rose Attar
Rising Phoenix Perfumery - Atlanta, USA

Frazer Parfum - Capetown, South Africa

Peach Tree Garden
Phoenix Botanicals - New York, USA

Papillon Perfumery - Salisbury, UK


Zoologist Perfumes - Toronto, Canada

Dark Ride
Xyrena - Los Angeles, USA

Elephant + Roses
Maria Candida Gentile Maître Parfumeur - Sarzana, Italy

Fougère Nobile
NOBILE 1942 - Genoa, Italy

JUL ED MAD Paris - Paris, France

Olfactive Studio - Paris, France

Past | Presence
Roads - Dublin, Ireland

Rose de Taif Extrait
Perris Monte Carlo - Monaco, Monaco

Salim Attar
Tabacora Parfums - Jelesnia, Poland

Waiheke Dreams
Juliana Parfums Co. - Auckland, New Zealand



Newer Post